FPA Special Awards to Steve Eckstrand and Mark Foster

October 24, 2018

Fusion Power Associates (FPA) Board of Directors has voted to present FPA Special Awards to longtime Department of Energy Office of Fusion Energy managers Steve Eckstrand and Mark Foster for their contributions to fusion development.

FPA Special Awards have been presented periodically since 1980 to persons who have made special contributions to the cause of fusion power development. A list of previous recipients is posted on the FPA web site: http://fusionpower.org and click on Awards.

Stephen A. Eckstrand
In selecting Stephen Eckstrand, the FPA Board of Directors recognizes and expresses its appreciation for his managerial and programmatic contributions to the magnetic fusion program through his leadership in managing the Alcator C-Mod experiment; the Tokamak Fusion Test Reactor program when it achieved 10 MW of deuterium-tritium fusion power; the National Spherical Torus Experiment program; and initiating and managing international collaboration teams on superconducting tokamaks. He also supported the management of the theory and SciDAC programs, the U.S. Burning Plasma Organization, U.S. participation in the International Tokamak Project Activities, and shaped overseas research agreements through the International Fusion Research Council.

Mark Foster
In selecting Mark Foster, the FPA Board of Directors recognizes and expresses its appreciation for managerial and programmatic contributions he has made to advancing magnetic confinement fusion through his effective oversight of the DIII-D National Fusion Program spanning three decades, while more recently providing oversight of the C-Mod Program at MIT, the NSTX-U ST Program at PPPL, and the Measurement Innovations Program. During his tenure, Dr. Foster has been instrumental in growing the number of university participants engaged in research on the major facilities through new awards. During his more than 24 year career at the U.S. Department of Energy, the programs managed by Dr. Foster made significant advances in Fusion Energy development across a number of areas, leading to increased confidence that ITER will meet its objectives for fusion energy development, and provided the scientific infrastructure that trained many of the current and the next generation of fusion research leaders.

The awards will be presented at Fusion Power Associates 39th Annual Meeting and Symposium, December 4-5 in Washington, DC. For an agenda and registration information contact fusionpwrassoc@aol.com