FPA Annual Meeting Presentations Posted

January 14, 2018

The presentations from Fuson Power Associates 38th Annual Meeting and Symposium: Pathways and Progress Toward Fusion Power, held December 6-7, 2017 in Washington, DC have been posted.

They can be accessed at http://fusionpower.org and click on Annual Meetings and Symposia or at http://firefusionpower.org/fpa_annual_meet.html

The agenda for the meeting is given below: FUSION POWER ASSOCIATES
DECEMBER 6-7, 2017
1000 H STREET NW, Washington, DC 20001


Wednesday December 6

7:30     Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00     Welcome - Farrokh Najmabadi, Chairman of the Board, FPA
8:10     Presentation of Awards - Stephen O. Dean, President, FPA
8:30     Keynote Address - Fusion in the Context of Future Energy Sources
                       - Osamu Motojima, President, Future Energy Research Association
9:00     American Security Project Perspective on Future Energy Sources
                        - Andrew Holland, American Security Project
9:30     EU Demo Study: Status and Issues
           - Gianfranco Federici, Head, Technology Dept, EUROfusion Consortium
9:55     Break
10:25    Session Chair - Dennis Whyte, MIT
            European and Asian Perspectives on Pathways and Technology Needs (Magnetic)
                        Gianfranco Federici, Head, Technology Dept, EUROfusion Consortium
                        Kenji Tobita, Director, Dept. of Fusion Reactor Systems Research, QST (Japan)
                        Keeman Kim, President, National Fusion Research Institute (Korea)
                        Baonian Wan, Director, Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS (China)
11:25    Lunch
12:50    Session Chair - Farrokh Najmabadi, UCSD
            Perspectives on Pathways and Progress (Magnetic)
                        Steven Cowley, Oxford U.
                        Dennis Whyte, MIT
                        Michl Binderbauer, Tri Alpha Energy, Inc.
                        Raffi Nazikian, PPPL
                        Tony Taylor, General Atomics
2:00     Session Chair - Mike Campbell, U Rochester LLE
             Perspectives on Pathways and Progress (Inertial and Magneto-Inertial)
                        Riccardo Betti, U. Rochester LLE
                        Stephen Obenschain, Naval Research Lab
                        Shinsuke Fujioka, Professor, Inst. of Laser Engineering, Osaka U.
                        Daniel Sinars, Sandia Laboratories
3:00     Break
3:30     Session Chair - Mark Haynes, Concordia Power
3:30     Report on National Academies Fusion Study - Mike Mauel, Columbia U.
3:50     Progress and Plans on DIII-D - David Hill, General Atomics
4:10     High Energy Density Science at SLAC - Siegfried Glenzer, SLAC
4:30     Status and Plans at Tri-Alpha Energy - Michl Binderbauer, Tri Alpha Energy
4:50     Status of ARPA-E ALPHA Program - Patrick McGrath, ARPA-E
Thursday December 7 - Declaration AB Room
7:30     Registration and Continental Breakfast
8:00     Congressional Perspective (Senate) - Benjamin Reinke, Senate Energy Committee
8:30     US Fusion Program Overview - James Van Dam, Acting Director, OFES DOE
9:00     Status of ITER - Bernard Bigot, Director General, ITER Organization
9:30     Audience Discussion
9:45     Break
10:15    Session Chair - David Babineau, Savannah River National Lab
10:15    Technology Issues for Fusion Power      
                        Steve Zinkle, ORNL
                        Mohamed Abdou, UCLA
                        Yican Wu, Director General, INEST (China)
11:00    Status of US Contributions to ITER Construction - Ned Sauthoff, US ITER
11:20    Lunch
12:30    Session Chair - Michael Paluszek, Princeton Satellite Systems
12:30    Status and Progress on NIF - Mark Herrmann, LLNL
12:50    Ignition Hydroequivalence Progress on OMEGA - Valeri Goncharov, U. Rochester
1:10     Status and Progress on MAGLIF - Daniel Sinars. Sandia National Laboratories
1:30     Progress and Plans at General Fusion - Michael Delage, General Fusion
1:50     Fusion Energy Sciences at LBNL - Peter Seidl, LBNL
2:10     Session Chair - Steve Dean, FPA
2:10     Congressional Perspective (House) - Emily Domenech and Adam Rosenberg
2:30     US Contributions to ITER Physics - Charles Greenfield, USBPO
2:50     High Energy Density Microphysics: Progress and Plans - Rip Collins, U. Rochester 
3:10     Successes of the Early Career Award Program - Nirmol Podder, DOE OFES
3:30     Fusion Rocket for In-Space Propulsion - Michael Paluszek, Princeton Satellite Systems
3:50     Adjourn